Disaster Management Authority

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands Administration has set up a Disaster Management Authority (DMA) under the chairmanship the of the Union Territory (UT) Lt Governor Bhopinder Singh as part of the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The members of the authority include the Member of Parliament, Chief Secretary, A&N Administration, Director General of Police, Chief of Staff, Andaman and Nicobar Command, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Development Commissioner, Commissioner-cum-Secretary (Health) and Commissioner-cum-Secretary (R&R). As per the notification issued by the goverment, a Disaster Management Executive Committee has been set up to assist the DMA, which would be coordinating and monitoring body for disaster management in the UT. While the Chief Secretary of the UT Administration being the ex-officio Chairperson of the Committee will be the Chief Executive Officer of the Authority, the members of the Committee include Director General of Police, Chief of Staff, Andaman and Nicobar Command, Development Commissioner, Commissioner-cum-Secretary (Health), Commissioner-cum-Secretary (APWD), Commissioner-cum-Secretary (Shipping), Chief General Manager (BSNL), In-charge Meteorological Department and Officer in-charge, National Institute of Ocean Technology, Port Blair. The Commissioner-cum-Secretary (R&R) shall be its Member Secretary.

Apart from the above, District Disaster Management Authorities have been constituted for the Districts of South Andaman, North and Middle Andaman and Nicobars. The Additional District Magistrate of South Andaman, Assistant Commissioner of Mayabunder and Assistant Commissioner (HQ) of Car Nicobar District will function as the Chief Executive Officer of the respective District Disaster Management Authority.

District Disaster Management Authorities for Nicobar District
SI No Title Designation
1 Deputy Commissioner(Nicobar) Chairperson
2 Chair Person, Tribal Council, Car Nicobar Co-Chairperson
3 Superintendent of Police (Nicobar) Member
4 Assistant Commissioner (HQ),Car Nicobar Chief Executive Officer
5 Medical Superitendent, Car Nicobar Member
6 Education Officer (Car Nicobar) Member
7 Superintending Engineer (APWD), Nicobar Member
8 Deputy General Manager/SDO, BSNL Member
9 Assistant Engineer (Electriciy), Nicobar Member